The Youse Orioles advanced to the championship finals of the All American Amateur Baseball Association (AABA) Tournament in Johnstown Pennsylvania on Friday with a 5-4 win over New Orleans. The O’s will play Delwood for the title on Saturday, and the Pennsylvania entry will have to defeat coach Tim Norris’ squad twice to claim the crown.

The Orioles (5-0) are undefeated in the double elimination event. Delwood (4-1) suffered their only loss of the tourney at the hands of the O’s in the third round 7-0.

On Friday, former local stars Blake Geiger (Calvert Hall), Pat Blair (Calvert Hall), Harry Slade (Loyola) all made key contributions in the Oriole win.   Geiger combined with Ben Carhart on the mound to stifle the New Orleans attack. After allowing four runs in the first inning, Geiger regrouped to throw six scres frames.  Carhart then came on to close out the win.

Slade had a key RBI in the sixth for Norris, and Kevin Hockaday (John Carroll) added a double and a single. Blair also delivered a huge two-run base hit.

Formerly Leones, Johnny-Leones, and Corrigan’s over the years, Baltimore will be gunning for their 27th championship in the prestigious AAABA tournament. They have outscored their opponents in this year’s tourney 37-6. Norris’ club finished first in the Cal Ripken Sr. league before heading for Johnstown.

Playing for skipper Dean Albany, the Youse team (named for legendary GM Walter Youse) won six consecutive AAABA titles from 2003 through 2008.