With 21 MIAA players on its 22-man roster, the Green Turtle Fells Point U18 lacrosse team made a deep run at the Lake Placid (NY) Lacrosse Summit, earlier this month, finishing second with one of the youngest teams in the field.

The squad was virtual identical to the team which captured the U15 nationals one year ago and included players from Boys’ Latin, Calvert Hall, McDonogh, Mount St. Joseph and St. Paul’s.

In the round robin phase, GTFP went 4-0 with wins over teams from Massachusetts and St. Louis as well as victories over the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) Varsity Select Team and the FCA Varsity Elite Team, which also was stocked with MIAA talent, to advance to the semifinals.

In the semis, the Turtles won a hard fought 5-4 decision over Ithaca to advance to the championship game, where they fell, 10-2, to the Shoreham High School Varsity team from Long Island, NY.

“Considering we moved up from U15 to U18 this year, it was a great accomplishment for these boys to make it back to the championship game,” said coach Pat O’Connor, who assisted head coach Joe Quinget.

The team played short-handed in the tournament, as Ben Brehene, on of the heros during St. Paul’s run to the 2010 MIAA A Conference championship, missed the event after suffering a broken ankle earlier in the summer. Stephen Guitierrez, a top defender from Calvert Hall, also went down with an ACL injury in the round robin phase of the tournament.

The defense was led by Under Armour All-American Evan Connell. The rest of the defense included Garrett Flannery (Calvert Hall), Gutierrez, Matt Lucas (St. Joe), Ky Reinhardt (Frederick) and Sean Rock (Calvert Hall).

On offense, Andrew Riehl (St. Paul’s) was one of the leading scorers and the winner of the Sportsmanship Award for unselfish team play. Other leading scorers were Evan Glaser (McDonogh), Brett Pearce (Calvert Hall), Gavin Llewellyn (St. Paul’s), David McBrien (Calvert Hall), Keegan O’Connor (Boys’ Latin), Brett Radcliffe (Boys’ Latin) and Andrew Roswell (Boys’ Latin). Russell Coulter (Coulter) played on the crease and had many tough inside goals.

Josh Ceribelli (Calvert Hall) did a great job with the faceoffs and got a lot of tough groundballs. Midfielders Kevin DelMonte (St. Paul’s) , Brendan O’Connor (Calvert Hall) and Colin Porter (Boys’ Latin) played good team defense and were instrumental in clearing and riding.

Christian Knight (Boys’ Latin) and Dimitri Pecunes (Calvert Hall) both were very solid in the nets and contributed to the start of many fastbreaks with accurate outlet passes.

Here is the team’s complete roster.

Russell Coulter – Calvert Hall -2013
Evan Glaser- McDonogh -2012
Brett Pearce- Calvert Hall -2012
Andrew Riehl – St Pauls – 2012

Josh Ceribelli- Calvert Hall – 2012
Kevin Delmonte- St Pauls – 2012
Gavin Llewellyn- St Pauls -2012
David McBrien- Calvert Hall -2012
Keegan O’Connor- Boys Latin -2014
Brendan O’Connor- Calvert Hall -2012
Colin Porter – Boys Latin -2013
Brett Radcliffe- Boys Latin – 2012
Andrew Roswell- Boys Latin -2013

Evan Connell – Calvert Hall – 2012
Garrett Flannery -Calvert Hall – 2012
Stephen Gutierrez – Calvert Hall – 2012
Matt Lucas- Mt St Joe -2012
Ky Reinhardt – Fredrick High School -2012
Sean Rock- Calvert Hall -2012

Christian Knight- Boys Latin – 2013
Dimitri Pecunes- Calvert Hall -2012