Led by 2010 NCAA Tournament MVP Caitlyn McFadden, four IAAM alumns have earned a spot on the U.S. World Cup lacrosse team. The 36-woman squad was announced Monday by US Lacrosse.

McFadden, a 2006 Notre Dame Prep grad, capped her brilliant collegiate career in the spring at the University of Maryland, leading the Terps to the national title over Northwestern on home soil at Unitas Stadium. McFadden, who was the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year, recently was hired as an assistant coach at the University of Florida.

A pair with a James Madision connection, Amy Altig and Casey Ancarrow, also made the final cut.  Altig, an Archbishop Spalding grad, started all four years at James Madison from 2001-2005.  She recently became an assistant at Penn State after serving in the same position at Richmond and Princeton.

Ancarrow, a 2008 John Carroll graduate, was rookie of the year in the Colonial Athletic Association this past spring for the Dukes as a redshirt sophomore. She led John Carroll to the IAAM A crown in her senior year.

Maryvale Prep grad Megan Huether earned her second straight spot on the national team. A 2006 Duke graduate and current volunteer assistant at William & Mary, Huether ranks first all-time for the Blue Devils in saves (646) and minutes (4505).

Other local players making the team include UMBC coach Kelly Berger (Hammond High grad), Amber Falcone (Winters Mill), Kim Griffin (North Harford), Kathleen Hertsch (Winters Mill) and current collegiate players Brittany Poist (Maryland/North Carroll), Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland/Century), Lauren Schwarzmann (Johns Hopkins/Century) and Acacia Walker (Maryland/Annapolis).

The U.S. team will play in the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup. The Red, White and Blue won the title in 2009 in Prague.