Sparrows Point (No.10 in the Maryland State Wrestling Association’s latest rankings) has been enjoying a stellar season filled with firsts. After winning the South River Duals for the first time, and advancing to the state dual meet finals for the first time, the Point won their first Baltimore County Wrestling Tournament championship on Saturday at Perry Hall High School. They edged runner-up Owings Mills by 13 points, 184-171.

“The team wrestled very well today,” Sparrows Point coach Mike Whisner said. “They were excited to become the first team in school history to win the county tournament. Owings Mills and Hereford are two very tough teams that we knew we were going to have to wrestle tough if we were going to win. Max Hammond, Ethan Hoenig, and Ethan Smith wrestled very tough in order to win county titles.”

The Pointers had three champions, tied with Owings Mills for the most of any teams, and their ten place-winners was a tournament high. Bringing home gold were, Max Hammond (132), Ethan Hoenig (138), and Ethan Smith (182).

The title was Hammond’s first after being a runner-up last year as a freshman. Smith won his first Baltimore County crown. He won the UCBAC championship last year for Aberdeen. Hoenig pulled off the biggest upset of the final for his first county crown. The senior, who was listed as an “others to watch” wrestler by the MSWA, showed that he, in fact, should have been ranked, as he downed No.10 Camryn Grindle (Perry Hall), 8-7.

Hall of FameThe Fouts brothers, Matt (106) and Mike (120) placed third for Sparrows Point. Skyler Minutelli (126) and Quentin Hager (160) were fourth. Placing fifth were Ronnie Brown (152) and Givoni Herring (170). Danny Davis (113) was sixth.

Owings Mills’ three champions were, Tyson McDuffy (126), David Hollingsworth (145), and Roell Coole Ngounou (152). Hollingsworth, a senior, won his third county crown. Ngounou, unranked by the MSWA, defeated No.19 Brenton Johns (Catonsville), 3-0.

Hereford’s lone titlist was Jimmy Cavin (120). The senior won the counties as a sophomore, but defaulted in the finals last year. He downed Eastern Tech’s Ryan Wagener, 6-0, for his second championship.

Franklin crowned two champions, Phil Smith (106) and Elijah Solomon (195).

At 113lbs, Chesapeake’s Jerry Vo pulled off another big upset in the finals. The unranked Vo edged No.16 Georgy Reitterer (Lansdowne), 8-7.

Dundalk’s Robert Doetsch (160) claimed his third county title with a 9-2 win over Pikesville’s Rasim Aliyev.

The other tournament champions were Randallstown’s Jamall Abdullah-Aleem (170), Gerard Nutter (New Town, 220), and Western Tech’s Chukwudi Kalu (285).

Team Scores (top 10):

1-Sparrows Point 184

2-Owings Mills 171

3-Hereford 149.5

4-Franklin 97.5

5-Milford Mill 95

6-New Town 84

7-Western Tech 82

8-Eastern Tech 81

9-Catonsville 78

10-Lansdowne 75



106 Phil Smith, Franklin M-Dec Alex DuFour, Owings Mills, 15-4

113 Jerry Vo, Chesapeake High School Dec Georgey Reiterer, Lansdowne, 8-7

120 Jimmy Cavin, Hereford Dec Ryan Wagener, Eastern Tech, 6-0

126 Tyson McDuffy, Owings Mills Dec Tyrell Armstrong, Perry Hall, 4-3

132 Max Hammond, Sparrows Point Dec Cade Hudson, Hereford, 5-0

138 Ethan Hoenig, Sparrows Point Dec Camryn Grindle, Perry Hall, 8-7

145 David Hollingsworth, Owings Mills Fall Jimmy Kells, Hereford, 5:43

152 Roell Coole Ngounou, Owings Mills Dec Brenton Johns, Catonsville High School, 3-0

160 Robert Doetsch, Dundalk Dec Rasim Aliyev, Pikesville, 9-2

170 Jamaal Abdullah-Aleem, Randallstown Dec Aaron Dow, Dulaney, 8-6

182 Ethan Smith, Sparrows Point Fall Mike Walker, Dundalk, 2:49

195 Elijah Solomon, Franklin Dec Drew Cheezum, Kenwood, 3-1

220 Gerard Nutter, New Town Dec Tyler Woodard, Dulaney, 6-3

285 Chukwudi Kalu, Western Tech Dec Alon Hough, Woodlawn, 1-0


3rd Place

106 Matt Fouts, Sparrows Point Dec Desean Hunter, Lansdowne, 3-1

113 Chris Barnes, New Town Dec Ewan Hemmis, Catonsville High School, 6-5

120 Mike Fouts, Sparrows Point Fall Jabius Barr, Milford Mill, 1:02

126 Zack Dell, Eastern Tech Fall Skyler Minutelli, Sparrows Point, 3:35

132 Josh Kreshtool, Franklin Fall Angelo Levon, New Town, 5:53

138 Ryan Godfrey, Hereford Dec Hunter Hinkel, Kenwood, 5-0

145 Deshawn Wilson, New Town Dflt Matthew Hinkle, Eastern Tech

152 Khaileb Desmond, Milford Mill Fall Cale McMurdy, Hereford, 4:31

160 Cameron Nelson, Patapsco T-Fall Quentin Hager, Sparrows Point, 18-2

170 Earl Little, Owings Mills Fall Devin Dunlap, Catonsville High School, 2:21

182 Jacob Mader, Towson Fall Yukon Ryan, Kenwood, 3:23

195 Noah Johnson, Western Tech Dec Chuck Ogala, Pikesville, 7-4

220 Troy Gladney, Hereford Dec Randy Gassaway, Franklin, 6-4

285 Thomas Weems, Overlea Dflt Andrew Bikay, Owings Mills


5th Place

106 Jack Amos, Hereford M-Dec Glen Giles, Milford Mill, 10-1

113 Joel Turner-Rogers, Woodlawn Dec Danny Davis, Sparrows Point, 5-3

120 Marquis Kemp, Loch Raven Fall Jacob Lipscomb, Lansdowne, 1:47

126 Marcus Woods, Parkville Frft Hamza Laghfiri, Dundalk

132 Joeseph Abromovitz, Pikesville Fall Laz James, Towson, 2:32

138 Thomas Heath, Eastern Tech Dec Sam Shrestha, Towson, 4-2

145 Kye Lynch, Patapsco Frft Raoul Meva, Lansdowne

152 Ronnie Brown, Sparrows Point Dec Luis Martinez, Lansdowne, 8-7

160 Wise Allah, Randallstown Dec Jack Morgan, Towson, 11-8

170 Givoni Herring, Sparrows Point Frft Ike Kalu, Western Tech

182 Diondre Space, Owings Mills Fall Najuane Phillpots, Milford Mill, 4:43

195 Kevin Neal, Milford Mill Dec Dylan Shank, Perry Hall, 10-3

220 Edmond Harrison, Western Tech Dec Donte Reid, Catonsville High School, 2-1

285 Everett Miller, Catonsville High School Fall Yeabsira Tilahun, Dundalk, 1:15