While the Sally Nyborg Invitational was the hot ticket in field hockey in the northern part of the Baltimore Metro region Saturday, the South River Invitational was the place to be in the southern section. Three teams ranked in the latest VSN’s Top 20, including No. 1 Bryn Mawr School converged on Edgewater.

By late Saturday afternoon, the Mawrtians had gone down and host and No. 4 South River was the last team standing, claiming the crown with a 3-2 overtime decision over No. 8 Glenelg.

Senior midfielder Courtney Thompson netted the game-winner, 2 minutes, 49 seconds into the extra session. Stacey Mackintosh was credited with the assist.

Mackintosh, a junior midfielder, scored the tying goal in regulation as South River and Glenelg played a spirited rematch of last season’s District V championship game. Glenelg standout midfielder Alyssa Parker had both goals for her squad.

Parker scored off a penalty corner to open the scoring. The Seahawks answered as Abby Lawrence scored off a rebound. Parker regained the lead for the reigning Howard County champs off a give-and-go with Kayleigh Hinkle.

South River gained its spot in the finals with a 5-0 drubbing of Montgomery County’s Quince Orchard. Mackintosh and Lawrence scored twice and senior forward Heather Hornick scored. Junior midfielder Madelyn Santa had an assist.

The Gladiators reached the title game thanks to a resounding a 5-1 decision over No. 1 Bryn Mawr. Hinkle and Meagan Guthrie each scored twice, and Parker contributed three assists. Junior Hannah Park had the lone goal for the Mawrtians.

The reigning IAAM A champs rebounded in the consolation with a 5-0 victory over Quince Orchard. Park scored twice and Cecilia Depman added a tally. The Mawrtians dive into league play Tuesday with a short walk to Roland Park Country School. Glenelg starts Howard County league play Wednesday with Reservoir at home.

In a long-awaited rematch, South River plays host No. 2 Severna Park Wednesday evening. The Falcons beat the Seahawks twice last season including a 4-3 decision in the Class 4A/3A East Region finals.