Manchester Valley comes out ahead of the county wrestling tournament tally

by Billy Loverocket

A new system was all the rage at the Carroll County Wrestling tournament on Saturday at Westminster High School. That rage was not the good kind though, it was the kind best avoided. The powers that be implemented a new procedure for determining the county wrestling champions this year. The problem is, apparently the coaches were not asked to vote on this, and it led to some head scratching.

The point total from Saturday’s action favored No.10 Manchester Valley over No. 6 South Carroll by three points, 190.5-187.5. Because the Cavaliers won the dual meet crown and CCPS having a combined system this year, South Carroll is the champ due to the head-to-head tiebreaker.

VSN was provided with the following information:

The county wrestling championship will be determined by the following criteria in which the school with the most accumulated points is the county champion

a) 1 point for regular season county victory
b) 1 point per place in descending order of county tournament finish (7,6,5,4,3,2,1)
c) In situations where schools play multiple times, the final original scheduled match counts towards the county championship percentage

South Carroll certainly won the battle for number of champs, posting titlists in half of the weight classes in going a perfect seven-for-seven in the finals. Manchester Valley had three golds, while no other team crowned more than one champion.

The Cavaliers started off with a bang as four of their freshmen brought home titles in the first six weights.
The star of that stretch would have to be No. 4 AJ Rodrigues who gained his edge with a 2-1 overtime decision of Winters Mill’s state runner-up and county champ Zach Kirby (No. 5). Rodrigues also downed the Falcon in the regional duals, 3-2.

No. 6 Michael Pizzuto made easy work of No. 17 Travis Green (Manchester Valley) rolling to a 10-2 major-decision at 106. At 120, No. 12 Gage Owen posted a major-decision of his own over No. 23 Alex Vagnier (Winters Mill), 9-1. No. 21 Rylan Moose planted Manchester Valley’s returning county champ and state placer Chad Schaffer (No. 20) at the 3:00 mark of the second period.

Richie Summerlin grabbed his first gold as well with a 7-5 win over Zach Brathuhn (Manchester Valley) at heavyweight. Sophomore Ryan Athey (No. 7 at 113) put his second title in the book with a quick pin of Westminster’s Ivan Allen, 1:12. Athey finished second in the 2A/1A states a year ago.

No. 6 Antonio Bradford had his own state final heartbreak last year. The junior took the first steps towards erasing that blow by capturing his second county crown after being second as a freshman, dropping Liberty’s Justin Richardson in 39 seconds.

No. 16 Jake Rippeon (132) and Shane Allison (195) were third for South Carroll. Placing fourth were Brandon Athey (145) and Justin Brister (182).

Manchester Valley’s three-point edge came about from its depth as they pushed 13 wrestlers to spots on the podium to South Carroll’s 11. They matched the Cavaliers with seven in the finals but could not equal their gold medal haul.

No. 13 Thomas Chenoweth claimed the 152lb wall chart when Liberty’s Jacob Slicher defaulted in their match. Chenoweth was second here last year. No. 12 Grant Warner (220) bested his second-place finish from last year with a first period pin of defending county champ No. 22 Wyatte Johns (Francis Scott Key), 1:50.

No. 12 Adam Mattson was the Maverick’s other representative at the top of the awards stand after pinning No. 19 Noah Ocasio (Winters Mill) in the first period, 1:22.

Falling short in their dream of county gold were, Travis Green, Schaffer, No. 18 Connor Livingston (182), and Brathuhn. Placing third were Jake Boog (120) and Hunter Green (126). Lee Seipp (113), Heathe Hernandez (132), Brayden Safely (160), and Nick Lambert (195) ended in the fourth slot.

Winters Mill was the day’s third best team throwing 136 points on the board. No. 14 Colby Unkart (132) was their lone champ using a fall, 3:13, of No. 22 Ryan Ohler (Liberty). The senior was second at last year’s county affair. Ohler upset South Carroll’s Rippeon, 11-10, in the semis.

Westminster’s Kaden Bryan’s 10-4 win over Winters Mill’s Cian Murphy for the 195lb crown helped his team to a fourth-place spot in the standings. Liberty was fifth as No.11 McClain Butler, a senior, claimed the 182lb title, 6-2, over the Maverick’s Livingston. Butler was second as a junior.

Century’s No. 16 Stephen Hurst was the 145lb titlist with an 8-3 win versus No.25 Nathan Perry (Francis Scott Key). Perry executed an upset of No. 16 Hunter Merson (Winters Mill), 4-3, in the semifinals.

***All rankings are by BillyB’s Wrestling World unless otherwise notated

Team Scores:
1-Manchester Valley 190.5
2-South Carroll 187.5
3-Winters Mill 136
4-Westminster 86
5-Liberty 78.5
6-Francis Scott Key 75
7-Century 31

1st Place Match
Michael Pizzuto (South Carroll) won by major decision over Travis Green (Manchester Valley) (Maj 10-2)
3rd Place Match
Zach Kinloch (Francis Scott Key) won by fall over Ty Streib (Westminster) (Fall 1:35)

1st Place Match
Ryan Athey (South Carroll) won by fall over Ivan Allen (Westminster) (Fall 1:12)
3rd Place Match
Carson Fitzgerald (Century) won by decision over Lee Seipp (Manchester Valley) (Dec 6-3)

1st Place Match
Gage Owen (South Carroll) won by major decision over Alex Vagnier (Winters Mill) (Maj 9-1)
3rd Place Match
Jake Boog (Manchester Valley) won by fall over Ryder Eckenbarger (Westminster) (Fall 1:32)

1st Place Match
AJ Rodrigues (South Carroll) won in the ultimate tie breaker over Zach Kirby (Winters Mill) (UTB 2-1)
3rd Place Match
Hunter Green (Manchester Valley) won by fall over Ben Carlow (Westminster) (Fall 3:39)

1st Place Match
Colby Unkart (Winters Mill) won by fall over Ryan Ohler (Liberty) (Fall 3:13)
3rd Place Match
Jake Rippeon (South Carroll) won by major decision over Heathe Hernandez (Manchester Valley) (Maj 13-2)

1st Place Match
Rylan Moose (South Carroll) won by fall over Chad Schaffer (Manchester Valley) (Fall 3:00)
3rd Place Match
Anthony Marsico (Liberty) won by decision over Dan Stephens (Westminster) (Dec 8-3)

1st Place Match
Stephen Hurst (Century) won by decision over Nathan Perry (Francis Scott Key) (Dec 8-3)
3rd Place Match
Hunter Merson (Winters Mill) won by decision over Brandon Athey (South Carroll) (Dec 5-0)

1st Place Match
Thomas Chenoweth (Manchester Valley) won by injury default over Jacob Slicher (Liberty) (Inj. 0:00)
3rd Place Match
John Alcorn (Winters Mill) won by decision over Bodey Griffin (Francis Scott Key) (Dec 9-2)

1st Place Match
Antonio Bradford (South Carroll) won by fall over Justin Richardson (Liberty) (Fall 0:39)
3rd Place Match
Jake Stiff (Winters Mill) won by major decision over Brayden Safely (Manchester Valley) (Maj 13-5)

1st Place Match
Adam Mattson (Manchester Valley) won by fall over Noah Ocasio (Winters Mill) (Fall 1:22)
3rd Place Match
Nathan Hohman (Westminster) won by decision over Sam Kinloch (Francis Scott Key) (Dec 6-3)

1st Place Match
McClain Butler (Liberty) won by decision over Connor Livingston (Manchester Valley) (Dec 6-2)
3rd Place Match
Cayden Beard (Winters Mill) won by decision over Justin Brister (South Carroll) (Dec 11-8)

1st Place Match
Kaden Bryan (Westminster) won by decision over Cian McCauley (Winters Mill) (Dec 10-4)
3rd Place Match
Shane Allison (South Carroll) won by decision over Nick Lambert (Manchester Valley) (Dec 3-2)

1st Place Match
Grant Warner (Manchester Valley) won by fall over Wyatte Johns (Francis Scott Key) (Fall 1:50)
3rd Place Match
Patrick Transue (Winters Mill) won by fall over Randy Green (Westminster) (Fall 1:42)

Varsity – 285
1st Place Match
Richie Summerlin (South Carroll) won by decision over Zach Brathuhn (Manchester Valley) (Dec 7-5)
3rd Place Match
Dustin Burgett (Francis Scott Key) won by fall over Sebastian Springfield (Winters Mill) (Fall 3:18)