McDonogh leads the way with six tops seeds; St. Joe has five No. 1 grapplers

by Billy Loverocket

The battle for the 2020 Lehigh Cup, given each year to the team champion of the MIAA Wrestling Tournament, gets underway at Gilman High School on Friday at 3:30pm. In recent years, Mount St. Joseph has come into the tournament as the favorite and has captured the last three championships.

McDonogh flipped the script and overtook the state’s No. 1 ranking with a 41-25 dual meet win on January 31st. The Eagles previously out-paced the Gaels at the Ironman and Beast of the East tournaments earlier this season. With the big dual meet win over their rival, they head into this year’s edition as the expected top finisher.

Their six No. 1 seeds bested St. Joe by one. The No. 1s are Cooper Flynn (120), Clayton Gabrielson (132), Dominic Solis (182), Jack Wimmer (195), Jackson Bonitz (220), and Garrett Kappes (285). All but Bonitz, who is ranked fourth at 220 by BillyB’s Wrestling World, are the state’s top-ranked wrestler in their weights.

Earning second seeds for McDonogh were Richard Fedalen (126) and Harrison Trahan (160). Joel Brown (113) and Matt Lawrence (145) were given third seeds.

Gaining top seeds for the Gaels were, No. 3 Coleman Nogle (106), Chris Barnabae (126), No. 2 Clement Woods (138), Chris Roybal (152), and Connor Strong (160). Barnabae, Roybal, and Strong are the No. 1 competitors in their respective weight classes throughout the state.

Joe Couch (113), Jacob Wright (120), Nathan Porter (132), and Parker Warner (195) were placed in the second slots of the bracket. Tony Zancan (170) and Gavin Bage (285) occupy the No. 3 slots in their class.

No. 4 Loyola did not garner any No. 1 seeds despite having one of their strongest teams in years. The Aybar brothers, Josh (152) and Jeremiah (182), come in as No. 2 seeds as does fellow Don, James Conway (170). Matty Walsh was seeded third at 120.

No. 5 Archbishop Spalding did see two guys get awarded No. 1 seeds, No. 1 Brady Pruett (113) and No. 2 Nick Paolucci (145). Joe Fisk (138) was seeded second. Getting third seeds were Mitch Garretson (152), Dylan Lewis (160), and Dustin Radford (195).

John Carroll’s CJ Polesovsky is the top seed at 170lbs.

MIAA Wrestling Tournament Schedule
Friday, February 7 – 3:30 PM
Matches begin on 4 Mats
(1st Round, Quarter Finals, 1st Round Consolations, Quarter Final Consolations)

Saturday, February 8 – 9:15 AM
Matches begin on 4 Mats
Championship Semifinals on 2 mats and
3rd Round Consolation on 2 mats

Consolation Semi Finals (2 Mats) – 11:15 AM

Finals – 1:00 PM
(1st, 3rd, 5th on 3 mats)

Click here for live updates on throughout the tournament.

2020 MIAA Wrestling Tournament Seeds

1-Coleman Nogle (Mt. St. Joe)
2-William Bressner (Gilman)
3-Julianne Moccia (John Carroll)
4-Logan Kisner (Loyola)
5-Dylan Young (Curley)
6-Matthew Lombardo (Calvert Hall)
7-Peter Zejmis (Friends)
8-John Gibbs (Spalding)

1-Brady Pruett (Spalding)
2-Joe Couch (Mt. St. Joe)
3-Joel Brown (McDonogh)
4-Ryan Money (Severn)
5-Jimmy Douglas (Loyola)
6-Ian Moccia (John Carroll)
7-Christian Kalb (Curley)
8-Greg Mechpaz (Gerstell Academy)

1-Cooper Flynn (McDonogh)
2-Jacob Wright (Mt. St. Joe)
3-Matty Walsh (Loyola)
4-Cedric Tyson (Boys’ Latin)
5-Bradley Lintz (Curley)

6-Allan Gushue (Gilman)
7-Sam Bruce (Severn)

1-Chris Barnabae (Mt. St. Joe)
2-Richard Fedalen (McDonogh)
3-Andy Weinstein (Gilman)
4-Adrian Triguero (Curley)
5-Duncan Kammar (Calvert Hall)
6-Jeremy Wright (Pallotti)
7-Ryan Eby (Loyola)
8-Zakiy Gasparovic (Friends)

1-Clayton Garbrielson (McDonogh)
2-Nathan Porter (Mt. St. Joe)
3-Cole Jones (John Carroll)
4-Owen Dixon (Loyola)
5-Drew Baublitz (Spalding)
6-Earl Chambers (St. Mary’s)
7-Quinn Smith (Friends)
8-Zack O’Brocki (Calvert Hall)

1-Clement Woods (Mt. St. Joe)
2-Joe Fisk (Spalding)
3-Nick Kobrick (Curley)
4-Kyree Day (Loyola)
5-Mohammed Ndiaye (McDonogh)
6-CJ Kovalsky (Gerstell Academy)
7-Jack Nuermberger (Gilman)

1-Nick Paolucci (Spalding)
2-Brad LaBella (Severn)
3-Matt Lawrence (McDonogh)
4-Matthew Jun (Mt. St. Joe)
5-Cole Myers (Loyola)
6-Matt Mitrega (John Carroll)
7-Marshall Hammond (St. Paul’s)
8-Jake Bauer (Calvert Hall)

1-Chris Roybal (Mt. St. Joe)
2-Josh Aybar (Loyola)
3-Mitch Garretson (Spalding)
4-Rami Tadros (Gerstell Academy)
5-William Riley (Curley)
6-Andrew Curtis (Calvert Hall)

1-Connor Strong (Mt. St. Joe)
2-Harrison Trahan (McDonogh)
3-Dylan Lewis (Spalding)
4-Damon Nelson (Loyola)
5-Rocco Ruppert (Gerstell Academy)
6-Gavin Proutt (Boys’ Latin)

1-CJ Polesovsky (John Carroll)
2-James Conway (Loyola)
3-Anthony Zancan (Mt. St. Joe)
4-Liam Kammar (Calvert Hall)
5-Riley McClure (Boys’ Latin)
6-Aidan Hurdle (McDonogh)
7-Grant Abbott (Gerstell Academy)
8-Micah Gonzalez (Glenelg Country School)

1-Dominic Solis (McDonogh)
2-Jeremiah Aybar (Loyola)
3-Quentin Day (Severn)
4-Matt Parker (Spalding)
5-Trevor Lintz (Curley)
6-Declan Budnitz (Friends)

1-Jack Wimmer (McDonogh)
2-Parker Warner (Mt. St. Joe)
3-Dustin Radford (Spalding)
4-Robbie Franklin (Loyola)
5-Sam Koyfman (Gerstell Academy)

1-Jackson Bonitz (McDonogh)
2-Mattheus Carroll (Gilman)
3-Jeremiah Trotman (Curley)
4-Mason Isaac (Boys’ Latin)
5-Jylah Bah (Glenelg Country School)
6-Bailey Brunner (Loyola)
7-Mike McQuaid (Calvert Hall)
8-Bryce Purnell (Spalding)

1-Garrett Kappes (McDonogh)
2-Judah Conaway (Curley)
3-Gavin Bage (Mt. St. Joe)
4-Xander O’Malley (Boys’ Latin)
5-Colin Kafes (Mt. Carmel)
6-Robert Thornburg (Pallotti)