2014                Kyle Maynard, Author/Athlete

2013                Wes Moore, Author

2012                Byron Pitts, CBS New

2011                Scott Garceau and Alan Wilson

2010                John Harbaugh, Head Coach, Baltimore Ravens

2009                Vivian Stringer, Head Coach, Rutgers Women’s Basketball Team

2008                Herman Boone, Retired head football coach, T.C. Williams High School, Alexandria, VA

2007                Dot Richardson, Olympic Gold Medal Winner and Orthopedic Surgeon

2006                Jim Morris, Former Major League Pitcher, Tampa Bay Devil Rays

2005                Brian Billick, Head Coach, Baltimore Ravens

2004                Carolyn Peck, Head Coach, Women’s Basketball Team, University of Florida

2003                James Brown, Sportscaster and motivational speaker


2001                Bonnie St. John Deane, Motivational speaker

2000                Art Berg, Motivational speaker, Wheelchair athlete

1999                Cathy Rigby, Former Olympic gymnast and current Broadway entertainer

1998                Dr. Ben Carson, Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins Hospital

1997                Roger Crawford

1996                Fran Tarkenton, Retired quarterback, Minneapolis Vikings

1995                Tom Sullivan

1994                Dick Vitale, College Basketball Analyst

1993                Bart Starr, Retired All Pro Quarterback, Green Bay Packers,

1992                Mary Lou Retton, Olympic Gold Medalist

1991                Andy Geiger, Athletic Director, University of Maryland

1990                Roger Staubach, Retired, Dallas Cowboys

1989                Wes Unseld, Coach, Washington Bullets

1988                Congressman Tom McMillen, 4th District, MD

1987                Pam Shriver, Professional Tennis Star and Author

                        Ernie Accorsi, Executive Vice President, The Cleveland Browns


1985                Frank Deford, Author and Senior Writer for Sports Illustrated

1984                Gary Tranquill, Head Football Coach, USNA


1982                Mike Adamle, NBC Sportscaster

1981                Gene Corrigan, Athletic Director, University of Notre Dame

1980                Irv Cross, CBS-TV Sports Commentator

1979                Rich Dauer, Infielder, Baltimore Orioles


1977                Johnny Unitas, Former Star Quarterback for the Baltimore Colts

1976                George T. Welsh, Head Football Coach, USNA

1975                Brooks Robinson, Baltimore Oriole Third Baseman

1974                Lenny Moore, Former Baltimore Colt Halfback


1972                Lieutenant General Claire E. Hutchin, Jr., Commander, First Army, Fort George C. Meade, MD

1971                Jesse Owens, Winner, Four Gold Medals 1936 Olympics and America’s greatest track-and-field star




1967                Don Shula, Head Football Coach, Baltimore Colts

1966                Joe Garagiola, National Sports Commentator, Voice of the New York Yankees, and Baseball Raconteur

1965                Don Shinnick, Star Linebacker of the Baltimore Colts

1964                Brooks Robinson, Baltimore Orioles Third Baseman and AL Player of the Year


1962                Arthur Donovan, Former Professional Football Player – 12 years, Baltimore Colts 1953-1962



1959                Bill Veeck, President, Chicago White Sox

1958                Eddie Erdelatz, Coach, USNA

1957                Forest Evashevski, Coach, University of Iowa

1956                Arthur Daley, The New York Times, “Sports of the Times”

1955                Robert Considine, International News Service, Syndicated Sports Writer, Commentator, Author

1954                Red Smith, New York Herald Tribune, Syndicated Sports Writer and Author

1953        &
nbsp;       Dr. Marvin A. Stevens, Surgeon, Coach, Teacher, Sportsman

1952                Vice Admiral C. Turner Joy, USN, Superintendent USNA

1951                Eric A. Johnston, President Motion Picture Association of America, Inc.