Mount St. Joseph’s Jalen Smith repeats as Baltimore Catholic League Player of the Year; Myles named top coach (VIDEO HERE!!)

Mount St. Joseph’s Jalen Smith (left), Immanuel Quickley from John Carroll and St. Fraces’ Adrian Baldwin and Elijah Epps were named to the Baltimore Catholic League’s first team Monday. Smith was named Player of the Year for the second straight year. John Carroll’s Montez Mathis was not available.

by Derek Toney

Jalen Smith is quiet and humble. Until he gets on the basketball court.

The Mount St. Joseph center/forward has been a dominant force the last two seasons. Monday afternoon, Smith was named Baltimore Catholic League Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-10 senior is the first player to repeat as the BCL’s top player year since former St. Frances Academy star and BCL Hall of Famer Mark Karcher 20 years ago. Last season, Smith became the first player to be named overall and Defensive Player of the Year.

“It’s a great honor. There are a lot of great players in this league,” said Smith after the ceremony at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Pikesville. “It means a lot to have people notice my game and believed in me.”

Smith, who will play for the University of Maryland next season, is a McDonald’s All-America, joining John Carroll School’s Immanuel Quickley. The two are the first McDonald All-American from the same league (MIAA A Conference and BCL).

Quickley, a Kentucky recruit, gained his third consecutive BCL first-team honor. Quickley’s teammate Montez Mathis and St. Frances Academy’s Elijah Epps and Adrian Baldwin, joined Quickley and Smith on the first team.

Nick Myles, who guided St. Frances to the BCL regular season title and the area’s No. 1 ranking, was named Coach of the Year. Panther junior guard Rajeir Jones was voted the league’s Defensive Player of the Year.

The 47th BCL Tournament kicks off Feb. 28 with four quarterfinal matches. Archbishop Spalding plays at St. Frances, Mount Carmel visits Mount St. Joseph, Loyola Blakefield travels to Hagerstown to take on St. Maria Goretti, and John Carroll hosts Calvert Hall College.

The quarterfinal winners advance to Goucher College for the semifinals March 3. The 47th BCL final will take place March 4 at Goucher at 3 p.m.

2017-18 Baltimore Catholic League Awards

Jerry Savage Player of the Year – Jalen Smith, Mount St. Joseph

Mark Amatucci Defensive Player of the Year – Rajeir Jones, St. Frances Academy

O. Ray Mullis Coach of the Year – Nick Myles, St. Frances Academy

Cokey Robertson Most Improved Player of the Year – JJ Halaby, Loyola Blakefield

All-BCL Team

First team

Jalen Smith, Mount St. Joseph, senior

Immanuel Quickley, John Carroll School, senior

Adrian Baldwin, St. Frances Academy, sophomore

Montez Mathis, John Carroll School, senior

Elijah Epps, St. Frances Academy, senior

Second team

Brendan Adams, Calvert Hall College, senior

James Bishop, Mount St. Joseph, junior

RJ Blakney, St. Maria Goretti, junior

JJ Halaby, Loyola Blakefield, senior

Yavuz Gultekin, John Carroll School, junior

Jordon Jones, Mount Carmel, senior

Honorable mention

Logan Curtis, Calvert Hall College; Jordan Toles, St. Frances Academy; Cameron Shaw, Loyola Blakefield; Rene Alphonso, Archbishop Spalding; Josh Mack, St. Maria Goretti; Tyree Myers, Mount St. Joseph

Dave Kropfelder “Never, Never Quit” Award

Mitch White, Archbishop Spalding; Cameron Watts, Calvert Hall College; Brandon Craig, John Carroll School; Chad Nnake, Loyola Blakefield; Teon Rushing, Mount Carmel; Kendall McMillian, Mount St. Joseph; Edward Ferguson, St. Frances Academy; Trey Boothe, St. Maria Goretti