Scott Ward Interview


After winning the MSA/MIAA A Conference Swimming Championship under coach Keith Schertle for 18 consecutive seasons, the Loyola Dons were defeated in last season’s MIAA Championships, when the Dons finished second to the McDonogh Eagles. The Eagles finished with 392 points and Loyola placed second with 365.5.

The last time McDonogh won the crown was in 1939.

The defending champs will have a lot of talent returning this season, and coach Scott Ward expects both Loyola and Calvert Hall to be his competition this season.

“A much improved Calvert Hall squad will also challenge us for the championship, in addition to Loyola,” said Ward, who also led the Eagles to the MIAA A Conference Water Polo championship this fall, defeating the Dons and the Cardinals on the same day to win that title.

Ward said that the goal for this season’s swim team will be to continue to improve.

“We’ll do our best to defend; we had some losses to graduation, but we have a good team coming back. Ian Silverman is an All-American.  He’ll give us strength in the middle-distance and distance events, and the Schmickel brothers (Bert and Oliver) will help us out.”

Ward said that he’ll get great leadership from Bert Schmickel, a senior captain. Bert’s brother Oliver, a sophomore, was an integral part of the water polo squad.

Another senior captain, Hunter Gillin will give the Eagles some power in the sprint events.

Ward said he’ll also count on Tarik Lott, Henry Stephens and Kyle Bloom. “Tarik will swim the individual medley and breaststroke, and Henry and Kyle will be our sprint and middle-distance freestylers.”

The Eagles will open their title defense on December 11 at home against Calvert Hall. They will host Loyola on January 15.

The MIAA Conference championships will be held at McDonogh on February 9.

McDonogh’s returning MIAA point scorers:

Ian Silverman, Jr. (MIAA Champ in 500 Free)
Jr: Henry Stephens, (6th 200 Free)
Bert Schmickel, Sr. (12th 100 Fly)
Tommy Chabbott, Sr. (10th 50 Free, 5th 100 Back)
Hunter Gillin, Sr. (12th 50 Free)
Tarik Lott, Jr.  (7th 200 IM, 4th 100 Breast)
Kyle Bloom, Jr. (7th 200 Free, 4th 100 Back)
Daniel Lynn, Sr. (11th 100 Breast)
Eric Lang, Jr. (12th 200 IM, 11th 500 Free)
Oliver Schmickel, So. (7th 100 Fly)