Forty-one area players have made the final rosters for the 3rd annual Crab Bowl senior all-star football game. The game will take place Saturday at noon at Bowie State University.

Calvert Hall College’s Adrian Amos and Dan Yarborough, arguably the area’s top two defensive players, will suit up for the Baltimore squad. Amos, a defensive back, was recently chosen Varsity Sports Network’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Leo Eades and Travon Garrett, who helped Dunbar to its fourth Class 1A state title in five seasons are on the Baltimore roster with Khalil Viera from Class 3A state champ Wilde Lake. Colin Osborne, chosen Offensive Player of the Year by the Howard County league coaches, will play. Osborne has committed to James Madison University.

MIAA B Conference champ Archbishop Spalding will have Shelley White and KK Smith on the Washington roster along with Arundel linemen Joe Kopp and Edward Hunt and Old Mill running back Demond Brown.

River Hill coach Brian Van Deusen will lead the Baltimore squad.

Washington has won the first contests, 24-21 in 2008 and 32-21 last year at Unitas Stadium. Arundel’s state record-breaking quarterback Chris Cosh (now at Kansas State University) tossed three touchdown passes including scores to Matt Robinson (Atholton/University of Maryland) and Arundel teammate R.J. Harris (New Hampshire). Josh Alaeze (Dunbar/Delaware State University) had a forced fumble on defense for Baltimore.

In 2008, Baltimore was powered by dynamo Tavon Austin (West Virginia University). The record-setting Dunbar standout had a 84-yard kickoff return for a touchdown and 81-yard touchdown catch. Austin finished with three receptions for 105 yards.

2010 Crab Bowl All-Star Game

When: Saturday Dec. 18

Time: Noon

Where: Bowie State University

Tickets: $10 each


1-Leo Eades, Dunbar, Wide receiver/Defensive back, 5-foot-11, 165 pounds

2-Adrian Amos, Calvert Hall College, Safety/Kick returner, 6-1, 200

3-Navassa Brown, Franklin, Slot/Defensive back, 5-8, 175

4-Josh Rivera, Urbana, Kicker/Punter, 6-1, 200

5-Vince DePaola, Hereford, Running back, 6-0, 205

6-DeAndre Scott, Thomas Johnson, Wide receiver, 6-0, 180

7-Mike Fafaul, Loyola Blakefield, Quarterback, 6-2, 190

8-Colin Osborne, Glenelg, Running back, 5-10, 188

9-Jude Merkel, Urbana, Defensive end, 6-2, 195

10-Tyler German, Queen Anne’s, Quarterback, 6-1, 205

11-Demetri Dennis, Reservoir, Defensive end, 6-0, 180

12-Madison Neddo, Bohemia Manor, Quarterback, 6-2, 190

15-Travon Garrett, Dunbar, Linebacker/Strong safety, 6-0, 200

20-Devonte Jones, Mount St. Joseph, Safety, 5-11, 185

21-Dwayne Randall, Linganore, Running back, 6-1, 204

22-Phillip Rhoden, Long Reach, Defensive back, 5-8, 170

23-Curtis Pumphrey, Atholton, Safety, 5-8, 150

24-Kion Wright, Pikesville, Halfback, 5-6, 156

25-Jose DePadua, Walkersville, Defensive back, 5-10, 175

26-Linn Worthington, Gilman School, Safety, 6-0, 180

27-Jordan Griffin, River Hill, Linebacker, 5-10, 190

28-Terrance Drew, Oakland Mills, Wide receiver, 6-4, 200

29-Brent Kluge, River Hill, Linebacker, 5-10, 215

31-Daniel Yarborough, Calvert Hall College, Defensive tackle, 6-0, 300

32-Khalil Viera, Wilde Lake, Running back, 5-7, 155

33-Gabriel Ali-El, Poly, Running back, 5-9, 200

36-Matt Semelsberger, Urbana, Linebacker, 6-1, 205

38-Brandon Bayer, North Harford, Halfback, 5-10, 185

40-Garrett Dolly, Fort Hill, Linebacker, 6-0, 215

42-Marquise Bannister, Eastern Tech, Running back, 5-11, 188

43-Zach Eure, Parkside, Linebacker, 6-1, 205

44-Tyler Weedon, Catonsville, Linebacker, 5-10, 215

45-Jake Kelbaugh, Queen Anne’s, Tight end/Nose guard, 6-2, 212

46-Quentin Ezell, Walkersville, Running back, 6-0, 235

47-Ryan Caruso, Howard, Tight end, 6-3, 210

51-Paul Taylor, Poly, Defensive end, 6-6, 240

52-Tyler Krug, Westminster, Defensive end, 6-4, 220

53-Marco Jones, Boys’ Latin, Defensive end, 6-4, 235

54-Chad Copeland,  Gilman School, Offensive guard, 6-4, 245

55-Anthony Winter, North Hagerstown, Running back, 5-11, 185

56-Breaon Hebron, River Hill, Center, 6-1, 275

58-Danny Gibbs, River Hill, Offensive line, 6-0, 240

61-Payton Rose, Hammond, Defensive end, 6-1, 215

62-Daniel McManus, Eastern Tech, Defensive tackle, 6-0, 269

65-Brendan Baker, Urbana, Left tackle, 6-1, 330

74-Luke IIlardo, Loyola Blakefield, Offensive line, 6-2, 270

76-Hunter Goodwin, Gilman School, Offensive tackle, 6-6, 290

78-Kyle Warholic, Linganore, Defensive tackle, 6-2, 298

79-Benjamin Curtis, Calvert Hall College, Offensive tackle, 6-5, 260

85-Michael Dahl, Mount St. Joseph, Tight end, 6-2, 210

88-Sean Reaver, Catoctin, Defensive end, 6-4, 235

90-Damian Williams, Parkside, Defensive tackle, 6-1, 290

Coach: Brian Van Deusen (River Hill)

Assistants: Ken Brinkman (North Harford); Lance Evans (River Hill); Tom Gruneberg (River Hill); Ryan Hines (Urbana); Ben Thompson (Mount St. Joseph); Rick Trott (Reservoir); Reggie White (Milford Mill Academy)



1-Blake Countess, Good Counsel, Cornerback, 5-10, 175

2-Connor Frazier, Damascus, Quarterback, 6-0, 190

3-Zachary Dancel, Good Counsel, Quarterback, 6-0, 190

4-Alex Twine, Quince Orchard, Linebacker, 6-1, 205

5-Brandon Phelps, Damascus, Wide receiver, 6-0, 175

6-Jamal Merritt, Sherwood, Safety, 6-0, 175

7-Darien Harris, DeMatha Catholic, Safety, 6-1, 210

8-Michael Branthover, DeMatha Catholic, Kicker/Punter, 5-9, 176

9-Vincent Croce, Good Counsel, Defensive tackle, 6-4, 260

10-DeAndre Smith, Henry A. Wise, Cornerback, 5-9, 178

11-Alex Cole, Sherwood, Defensive back, 5-10, 170

15-Zachary Fetters, Gaithersburg, Quarterback, 6-2, 190

19-Conner Crowell, North Point, Linebacker, 6-1, 215

20-Shelley White, Archbishop Spalding, Defensive back, 5-10, 180

20-Nico Law, Bishop McNamara, Linebacker, 6-3, 190

21-Joel Ross, Damacsus, Cornerback, 5-10, 170

22-Bernard Wolley, Seneca Valley, Linebacker, 5-10, 215

23-Hannibal Robinson, Bishop McNamara, Running back, 5-9, 175

24-Chris Williams, Friendly, Defensive end, 6-0, 230

26-Crusoe Gongbay, Rockville, Running back, 6-0, 195

27-Demond Brown, Old Mill, Running back, 5-9, 190

29-Sherrod Baltimore, Friendly, Cornerback, 5-10, 165

33-KK Smith, Archbishop Spalding, Running back, 5-9, 193

36-Ja’Wan Poole, North Point, Linebacker, 5-10, 205

44-Jonathan Harris, Forestville, Defensive end, 5-2, 215

45-Andrew Bose, Huntingtown, Linebacker, 6-2, 225

52-Ascene Jacques, Charles H. Flowers, Linebacker, 6-1, 204

53-Joe Rosenblatt, Good Counsel, Defensive tackle, 6-4, 250

54-Max Lehrman, Landon School, Defensive end, 6-2, 240

55-John Lynn, Landon School, Linebacker, 5-11, 191

56-Jamal Price, McDonough, Offensive line, 6-7, 330

57-Darian Cooper, DeMatha Catholic, Defensive tackle, 6-2, 275

62-Scott Mergner, Georgetown Prep, Offensive line, 6-4, 275

70-Leon Brown, Parkdale, Offensive tackle, 6-6, 295

71-Kelby Johnson, DeMatha Catholic, Offensive tackle, 6-8, 285

72-Joe Kopp, Arundel, Offensive line, 6-4, 255

73-Terrelll Stewart, Suitland, Offensive line, 6-3, 320

75-Edward Hunt, Arundel, Offensive tackle, 6-5, 265

80-Daniel Upson, Watkins Mill, Wide receiver, 6-2, 190

82-LeVern Jacobs, Suitland, Wide receiver, 6-2, 190

87-Najee Green, Gwynn Park, Wide receiver, 6-2, 180

88-Earvin Anumgba, Paint Branch, Wide receiver, 6-0, 185

88-Milton Williams, Frederick Douglass, Wide receiver, 6-2, 193

92-Olatungie Coker, Largo, Defensive line, 6-2, 232

93-Michael Roberts, Frederick Douglass, Defensive tackle, 6-1, 275

Coach: J.C. Pinkney (Frederick Douglass)

Assistants: Kevin Bernot (Rockville); Steve Crounse (Patuxent); Danny Hayes (Gwynn Park); Bill Johnson (Frederick Douglass); Kreg Kephart (Gaithersburg); Doug Lamb (Lackey); Ken Lane (North Point); Mike Nesmith (Paint Branch); Eric Wade (Suitland); Mark Watson (Calvert)