Information compiled by Odist Felder and Lem Satterfield

Winning by more than 115 team-points, the LaPlata Warriors demolished the 2A/4A South Regions, this past weekend, crowning six champions and sending 11 wrestlers to the MPSSAA State Tournament at the University of Maryland, College park.

LaPlata was le by John Papanicolas (103), Robbie Patterson (112), Jason Jennings (135), Daniel Brannon (140), Josh Llopez (152) and Connar Zimmerman (160) in the Saturday finals, all claiming individual titles, while fellow finalists Dylan Dull (130) and John Boarman (285) settled for runner-up positions.

Adding to the enormous team score, the Warriors saw third-place finishers in Joey Higgs (171) and Justin Lee (189), and a qualified Nick Higgs for thw 119-pound state championship field with a fourth-place end.

Coming closest to LaPlata daunting performance was Eleanor Roosevelt, who crowned one of five finalists on Saturday, seeing Skylar Barrowman earn a title at 130 while teammates Jonathan Jones (140), Issac Ndze-Williams (160), Aburough Abegesah (189) and Tommy Boozer (215) emerged with second-place finishes on the weekend.

No other team scored multiple champions in the region’s final round, though Thomas Stone and Leonardtown would trade champions at 119 and 125 in Reid Franklin and Same Corey, with Huntingtown crowning Billy Haden at 171 and Westlake dubbing Kian Magruder the 215-pound king.

North Point was represented by Anthony Zoscak, earning a championsip at 189, and Northern-Calvert with Eric Hoffman at 145.

The top four place-finishers will take to Cole Field House in next weekend’s MPSSAA State Tournament, held at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Team Scores (Top 15):

1. LaPlata 222.5
2. Eleanor Roosevelt 105
3. Leonardtown 93.5
4. North Point 92
5. Chopticon 86
6. Huntingtown 74.5
7. Thomas Stone 64.5
8. Northern 59.5
9. Duval 54.5
10. Bladensburg 50
11. Westlake 47
12. C.H. Flowers 38
13. High Point 33
14. Oxon Hill 26
15. Great Mills 16

3A/4A South Championship Finals Results:

103- John Papanicolas, LaPlata d. Thiemo Diallo, Duval, 8-4
112- Robbie Patterson, LaPlata d. Matt Moore, Northern, 8-4
119- Reid Franklin, Thomas Stone, d. Alex Truitt, Leonardtown 4-0
125- Sam Corey, Leonardtown by forfeit (Tanner Saluter, Thomas Stone, injured)
130- Skylar Barrowman, Eleanor Roosevelt, d. Dylan Dull, LaPlata, 7-3.
135- Jason Jennings, LaPlata d. Antwan Riddick, Duval, 12-5
140- Daniel Brannon, LaPlata tf. Jonathan Jones, Eleanor Roosevelt, 17-1
145- Eric Hoffman, Northen-Calvert p. Zachary Mills, Duval, 2:39
152- Josh Llopez, LaPlata p. Garrett Lineberger, Thomas Stone, 1:11
160- Connar Zimmerman, La Plata p. Isaac Ndze-Williams, Eleanor Roosevelt, 0:51
171- Billy Haden, Huntingtown mj. James Cannon, Chopticon, 11-2
189- Anthony Zoscak, North Point d. Aburough Abegesah, Eleanor Roosevelt, 5-4
215- Kian Magruder, Westlake d. Tommy Boozer, Eleanor Roosevelt, 5-2
285- Jamal Saunders, Bladensburg d. John Boarman, LaPlata, 10-8

3A/4A South Consolation Finals Results

103- Kyle Gascon, North Point, d. Dennis Robles, High Point, 2-0
112- Kevin White, C.H. Flowers, mj. Dane Lennon, Leonartown, 11-1
119- Sean Mulloy, North Point, d. Nick Higgs, LaPlata, 6-4
125- John Fisher, Chopticon d. Malachi Edmond, Henry Wise, 5-4
130- Raheem Williams, West Lake, d. Nick Gaetano, Leonardtown, 12-9
135- Joey Rice, Huntingtown d. Andrew Duncanson, Leonardtown, 11-4
140- Kevin Gancon, North Point p. Thomas Rackey, Chopticon, 4:15
145- Nate Jackson, Eleanor Roosevelt d. Tyler Koncen, Chopticon, 5-3
152- Sodiq Yusuff, Bladensburg p. Ryan Murphy, Oxon Hill, 3:39
160- Randy Polanco, High Point d. Derrall Bridges, C.H. Flowers, 7-3
171- Joey Higgs, La Plata d. Alex Cranford, North Point, 5-4
189- Justin Lee, LaPlata p. Steven Athens, Huntingtown, 2:50
215- Doug Harbold, Chopticon p. Nate Fowler, Huntingtown, 2:53
285- Kejuan Perez, North Point p. Keevon Prather, Crossland, 3:27