Quarterback Cody Turner (North Harford) led the Metro squad to an exciting 15-12 overtime win over the Baltimore team in the 15th annual Baltimore Touchdown Club All-Star Game at Archbishop Spalding on Saturday afternoon.

Joe Kelly (Wilde Lake) drilled a 21 yard field goal on fourth and seven in the first overtime for the Metro team that proved to be the game winner.

“I missed a few earlier in the day and the third time was a charm for me,” said Kelly, who just one week ago helped guide Wilde Lake to the 3A state championship.  “I’m just happy it went in.  It was a lot of fun.”

The Baltimore team, which rallied from a 12-0 half time deficit to tie the game on a one-yard keeper by Mike Fafaul (Loyola), with 1:07 left in regulation, had a chance to win on fourth and ten on their overtime possession, but Phil Rhoden (Long Reach) broke up Fafaul’s pass in the end zone to DJ Owen (John Carroll).

Fafaul and Owens had kept the Baltimore team in the game when, with 2:04 to play in regulation, the Blakefield signal-caller hit the 6′-foot-7 John Carroll receiver for a 14-yard gain to the one yard line on a fourth and ten at the Metro 15.

Two plays later, Fafaul scored on a one-yard plunge to tie the game, 12-12, and Baltimore had a chance to take the lead on the conversion, but the kick was wide left.

Mike FafaulFafaul drove his team to two fourth quarter TD’s on drives of 74 and 48 yards, respectively.  He hit on big connections to Leo Eades (Dunbar), Cordell Blair (North County), and Owens on both drives. The 74-yard march to the end zone culminated with a 2 yard TD run by LaMont Wims (St. John’s Catholic Prep).

Turner put his team ahead 6-0 at the 2:06 mark of the first quarter with a two-yard run.  Metro made it 12-0 late in the first half when DeAndre Scott (Thomas Johnson) scored on a 10-yard pass from Cameron Wann (Patterson Mill).

Turner said that the Metro team’s option plays were the keys to the win.  “They didn’t expect it, and we just came with it.”

Neither team could convert on point-after-touchdown attempts all day, even though the wind was not a factor. The only time a kick sailed through the uprights was when Kelly won the game for the Metro eleven.

It was the eighth time that Metro has won the BTC Star game since it’s inception in 1996.

Perry Hall’s Keith Robinson was the coach for the Metro squad, and Calvert Hall’s Donald Davis led the Baltimore team.

Baltimore won last year under coach Scott Ripley.

To view videos, click on Related Videos link above.

Metro 15, Baltimore 12, OT
1st Q
M-Turner 2 run (kick failed)
2nd Q
M-Scott 10 pass from Warn (kick failed)
4th Q
B-Wims 2 run (kick failed)
B-Fafaul 1 run (kick failed)
M-Kelly 21 FG