Despite pushing eight wrestlers to the finals and crowning five champions, the No. 11 Archbishop Curley Friars settled for second place, Saturday, in the 2012 Falcon Invitational.

Crowning champions at 113, 160, 182, 195 and 220, the Friars saw champions in Corey Huntley, Brett Brigman, Purnell Summers, Chuckie Blankenship and Avery Williams, respectively, as Williams and Blankenship each pinned in their final bout.

Williams cut his matches short by pinning in four of his tournament wins, including his Francis Scott Key finals opponent, while Brigman spent a little extra time to claim his 160-pound title, going into overtime with Winters Mill’s Chase Cullison for a 3-2 overtime championship victory.

Fred Johnson (138 pounds), Erik Meyer (145) and Morgan McColgan (152) all placed second for Curley, adding third-place winners Sean Bieschke (170) and Kevin Sigwart (HWT).

Fellow MIAA squad Loyola crowned back-to-back champs in David Mohler and Ben Smits at 120 and 126, respectively, later adding Joe Moreno as a 152-pound title winner.  Jordan Horne place second at 285.

Host Winters Mill held an astonishing nine wrestlers in the finals, crowning five champions in Flavio Valdez (106), Wes Cook (138), Cody Sharkey (145), Marshal Chang (170) and Jake Utz (285), earning bonus points in three of their finals bouts.  The Falcons also had big wins at 138 and 145, beating their Friar opponents to help keep them in second place.

Winters Mill added three third-place winners in Corbin, Randall and Burndley at 182, 195 and 220, respectively, as Loyola placed five wrestlers in the consolation finals.

You can email CJ Malinowski at, and follow him on twitter.

Championship Finals
106 Flavio Valdez by Fall 1:13 over Marco Cuccinotta LEO
113 Corey Huntley AC by Dec 7-1 over Taylor Logue WM
120 David Mohler LOY by Fall 1:11 over Chris Rose WM
126 Ben Smits LOY by Inj Default over Sam Corey LEO
132 Alex Truitt LEO by Dec 2-1 over Gunner Cullison WM
138 Wes Cook WM by Fall 1:42 over Fred Johnson AC
145 Cody Sharkey WM by Dec 7-4 over Erik Meyer AC
152 Joe Moreno LOY by Fall 1:33 over Morgan McColgan AC
160 Brett Brigman AC by Dec 3-2 OT over Chase Cullison WM
170 Marshal Chang by TFall 16-1 over Shane Crowley LEO
182 Purnell Summers AC by Dec 5-4 Alpha Jolla AACS
195 Chuckie Blankenship AC by Fall 2:00 over Brent Bohanan LEO
220 Avery Williams AC by Fall :35 over Ben Peters FSK
285 Jake Utz WM by Dec 5-3 over Jordan Horne LOY

Consolations Finals
106 Robey WEST by Fall :39 over Mueller FSK
113 Lemmon LEO by Fall 3:47 over Riehl AACS
120 Friedel FSK by TFall 17-2 over Cotton AACS
126 Linehan AACS by Fall 3:16 over Marmalukov WEST
132 W. Johnson LOY by Fall 2:30 over Plank FSK
138 Gaetano LEO by Fall 2:31 over Marlowe LOY
145 Nordhousen LOY by Fall 3:34 over #23 Duncanson LEO
152 Brey FSK by Dec 12-11 over Oxendine WM
160 Eckenbarger WEST by Inj Def over Boyce LEO
170 Bieschke AC by Dec over Bregenzer LOY
182 Corbin WM by Inj Def over Boone LOY
195 Randall WM by Fall 1:33 over Bright WTW
220 Burndley WM by Dec 7-4 over Snowden LEO
285 Stewart AC by Dec 10-9 over Mays LEO