It has been a couple years since a team was able to knock the Bel Air Bobcats off the top seat in the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference, but Harford Tech is surely going to give it a shot.

“This year we will be in the running at UCBAC and Regions with Bel Air and Rising Sun,” Cobra coach Gary Siler said.  “We bring back many wrestlers from last years team, and with some leadership from seniors Joey Malanga and Jamie Rappazzo, we will be in good hands.”

Malanga, finishing his 2010 state tournament run at 30-10, placing third in the UCBAC and fourth in the regions, will go to work with teammate Rappazzo to earn top honors in the conference after falling short in the UCBAC tournament last year by 36 team-points.

Rappazzo (36-10), also qualifying for the state tournament last year, was a runner-up in the UCBAC before placing third at regions and working to a sixth place finish at the MPSSAA’s

The Cobras had more than five wrestlers finish the season with 20-plus wins, including Tyler Granese, Brandon Hoch, Bret Blevins, Chase George, Mike Vega and Dillon Brush, with Vega and Brush earning hardware at the UCBAC tournament.

Vega finished second in the UCBAC and fifth at regions, while Brush was a bronze medalist in the conference and qualified for the regional tournament.

Siler is concerned wit his 198-pound slot, seeing a gap after Jeff Dickens sustained a football injury, but is optimistic on lightweight newcomer Adam Teal.

“Teal is cleared to wrestle after three years of medical concerns,” Siler said, “and he brings seven years of rec. league experience.”

Harford Tech High is hosting two scrimmages this week, opening the gym to all UCBAC teams on Nov. 30, and then holding a state-wide scrimmage on Dec. 2.

Probable Harford Tech Line-up 2010-2011

103- Adam Teal (Sr)
112- Tyler Granese (Jr)
119- Brandon Hoch (Sr)
125- Bret Blevins (Jr)
130- Chase George (Sr)
135- Jimmy Cosgrove (Jr)
140- Joey Malanga (Sr)
145- Josh North (Jr)
152- Jamie Rappazzo (Sr)
160- George Majchrzak (Sr)
171- Dillon Brush (Jr)
215- Mike Vega (Soph)
285- Josh Smith (Sr)