The MIAA teams put 16 wrestlers into the semifinals of the Ray Oliver Tournament, and after the Saturday round see seven enter the championship finals.  Most impressively in the MIAA’s round: Archbishop Spalding’s perfection through the round advancing all five of their wrestlers.

First placing lightweights Michael Still (103) and Logan Breitenbach (125) into the next round, Spalding’s Brady Gaynor pulled one over Curley’s Brett Przywara in a tight, 3-1, decision to head into the 135-pound final.

Two weightclasses later, Charlie Lynch added to the growing list of Cavalier wrestlers to move on, pinning Mark Wilson in 1:36, before Kvaunte Smith punched his tournament finals ticket with a 12-5 decision over McDonogh’s Kevin Marvel at 189.

With the semifinal success, Spalding leaped into first place over Caesar Rodney, leading by 20 points, and McDonogh still remained in the top five.  Ceasar Rodney advanced two wrestlers to the championship finals.

McDonogh was the only other MIAA squad to advance wrestlers to the Saturday afternoon championship finals, including freshman standout Jack Clark (130) and Tyler Patrick (152).

The MIAA’s hopes for an all 140-pounc final were smashed when Sussex Central’s Cody Broomall major decisioned Curley’s Erik Meyer, 14-2, and Georgetown Prep’s Michael Sprague worked a 5-4 decision over McDonogh’sToby Hague.

The finals are scheduled to start at 4 p.m. in the Field House at the McDonogh School.

Ray Oliver semifinal results:

103- Michael Still, AS dec 7-0 Adam Lowe, POQ
Brent Fleetwood, SMY dec 5-2 Zach Howell, CR

112- John Archangelo, SMY dec 4-2 Thomas Payne, POQ
Micah Hight, CR mdec 12-2 Logan Meister, McD

119- Chris Donaldson, SAL dec 9-4 David Hershberger, SMY
Paul O`Neill, GON dec 4-2 Kaleb LeMaire, CR

125- Logan Breitenbach, AS dec 3-0 Jeffrey Ogburn, POQ
Matt Kibblehouse, SAL dec 1-0 Jason Murphy, LND

130- Shane Arechiga, GC FF Mark Ardecki, CA]
Jack Clark, McD dec 7-4 Tyler Pendergast, STM

135- John McClanahan, GB dec 3-0 Stephen Jackson, CR
Brady Gaynor, AS dec 3-1 Brett Przywara, AC

140- Cody Broomall, SC mdec 14-2 Erik Meyer, AC
Michael Sprague, GP dec 5-4 Toby Hague, McD

145- Charlie Lynch, AS fall 1:36 Mark Wilson, LNG
Thomas Wilson, GP dec 9-5 Cal Riorda, GIL

152- Cody Combs, SC TF17-0 Zach Boyles, SMY
Tyler Patrick, McD dec 8-2 Chuck Blankenship, AC

160- Issah Meade, CR dec 10-6 Max Sataloff, McD
Ryan Wolfe, CA dec 7-0 Troy Murtha, GP

171- Josh Snook, STM fall 3:07 Pierce DeMarreau, CR
Griffin Dulany, LNG dec 8-2 Jeremy Casey, CA

189- Michael Mauk, STM dec 3-0 Alex Zwier, CA
Kvaunte Smith, AS des 12-5 Kevin Marvel, McD

215- Joey Spicer, SC fall :21 Matt Barranco, McD
Kyle Snyder, GC mdec 17-5 Matt Shaw, STM

285- Stephen Snyder, GC dec 7-3 Tyler Chronic, SC
Disco Schafferman, HVT FF Khari Brown, BM