Forest Park High football coach Damon Bomar got an early Christmas present Sunday afternoon. The second-year coach was named the Baltimore Ravens’ High School Coach of the Year.

Bomar transformed the Foresters, who were 2-8 in 2008, into a Baltimore City Division II powerhouse. After posting a 11-1 record in 2009, including the team’s first undefeated regular season in 40 years, Bomar followed with a 11-1 record this past season. The northwest Baltimore school’s only loss came against eventual Class 1A state champion Dunbar in the South Region finals. 

By focusing on discipline and structure, Bomar crafted a team with immense talent on both sides of the football. This season, the Foresters posted an impressive seven shutouts and outscored opponents 467-76 in their 11 wins. The offense averaged 36.8 points per game, while the defense allowed an average of 8.3. 

But much of the credit goes to the coach’s expectations of “team” values – a trait he personally exerts.

“I can’t take credit by myself,” Bomar humbly stated. “I’m lucky to have a great coaching staff and a talented group of players.” 

Bomar was honored alongside his fellow Coach of the Week recipients during the Ravens’ 30-24 victory over the New Orleans Saints at M&T Bank Stadium. As the 2010 Ravens’ High School Coach of the Year, Bomar will receive an additional $4,000 donation toward Forest Park’s football program.

Each week during the season, the Ravens honored a high school coach who has made a significant impact on his athletes. Each recipient received a $2,000 donation to the school’s football program, a certificate signed by Ravens’ head coach John Harbaugh and a specially-designed Coach of the Week hat.

The Ravens’ High School Coach of the Year Award has been a fixture in youth athletics since 1997. Previous recipients include: Augie Waibel of Poly (1997), Nick Arminio of Eastern Technical (1998), Pete Pompey of Edmondson-Westside (1999), Dominic Damico of McDonogh School (2000), Steve Turnbaugh of Hereford (2001), Dave Eubank of Dundalk (2002), Gene Brown of South Carroll (2003), Ben Eaton of Dunbar (2004), Brad Wilson of Westminster (2005), Dante Jones of Edmondson-Westside (2006), Lawrence Smith of Dunbar (2007), Tony Shermeyer of Century (2008) and Rick Conner of Linganore (2009).