Spalding’s Cam Whitmore named Player of the Year; Myles wins top coach honor

Cam Whitmore slams home two of his game-high 26 points in Archbishop Spalding’s season opener against St. Frances last month. The junior was named Baltimore Catholic League Player of the Year Sunday afternoon.

by Derek Toney

Going into a shortened season, Archbishop Spalding basketball opponents knew slowing down Cameron Whitmore was vital.

Well, better said than done. The forward was at times unstoppable for the Cavaliers, and Sunday, Whitmore was selected the Baltimore Catholic League’s Player of the Year.

Whitmore, 6-foot-6, is averaging 22 points and 11.7 rebounds for the Cavaliers (11-2 overall), who finished second (5-2) in the regular season standings. He’s the first Cavalier player to be named the BCL’s top player since Rudy Gay in 2004. Gay is in his 12th season in the NBA (currently playing for San Antonio) after being selected in the first round out of the University of Connecticut in 2006.

Whitmore is the first underclassmen selected the Jerry Savage Award recipient (BCL Player of the Year) since former Mount St. Joseph and University of Maryland star Jalen Smith in 2017. Smith was a first-round draft selection last October by Phoenix.

The area’s top recruit in the Class of 2022, Whitmore’s a Top 100 recruit by Rivals.

Spalding coach Josh Pratt said Whitmore, a first-team All-BCL pick last year as a sophomore, has kept a level head, while raising his game.

“For a 16-year old junior he’s really grown up and show a lot of maturity,” said Pratt. “We’re asking a lot from him…he’s happy for his teammates, works hard in practice. He’s come full circle.”

St. Frances Academy, which went undefeated (13-0 overall, 7-0 BCL) in an abbreviated season, had senior guard Khyrie Staten and freshman forward Derik Queen selected to the first team. Deon Perry (Our Lady of Mount Carmel), D’Angelo Stines from Mount St. Joseph and John Carroll School’s Jalen Bryant make up the rest of the first team.

St. Frances coach Nick Myles was selected the Ray O. Mullis recipient as Coach of the Year. Myles, who was previously selected in 2018, guided the East Baltimore school to its record 11th regular season championship.

Loyola Blakefield’s Gavin Walsh was named Most Improved Player (Cokey Robertson Award). Our Lady of Mount Carmel center Kevin Kalu won Defensive Player of the Year (Mark Amatucci Award).

The 50th BCL Tournament commence Monday with four quarterfinal matches at the higher seed. The semifinals take place Wednesday and championship Friday, both at a site to be determined.


Player of the Year (Jerry Savage Award) – Cameron Whitmore, Archbishop Spalding

Defensive Player of the Year (Mark Amatucci Award) – Kevin Kalu, Our Lady of Mount Carmel

Most Improved Player (Cokey Robertson Award) – Gavin Walsh, Loyola Blakefield

Coach of the Year (O. Ray Mullis Award) – Nick Myles, St. Frances Academy


Jalen Bryant, John Carroll School, senior

Deon Perry, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, junior

Derik Queen, St. Frances Academy, freshman

Khyrie Staten, St. Frances Academy, senior

D’Angelo Stines, Mount St. Joseph, senior

Mike Williams, Calvert Hall College, sophomore


Kevin Kalu, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, senior

Toby Nnadozie, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, senior

Julian Reese, St. Frances Academy, senior

Cam Smith, Loyola Blakefield, senior

Bryson Tucker, Mount St. Joseph, freshman

Gavin Walsh, Loyola Blakefield, junior

Honorable mention – Tyson Commander, John Carroll School; Ausar Crawley, Mount St. Joseph; Jordan Green, St. Maria Goretti; Vincent Payne, St. Maria Goretti; Jordan Pennick, Archbishop Spalding; Ty Peterson, Archbishop Spalding; Cesar Tchilombo, John Carroll School

Dave Kropfelder “Never, Never Quit” Awards – Chris Abissi, St. Maria Goretti; Jalen Bouknight, Archbishop Spalding; Sean Carr, Mount St. Joseph; John Dixon, Loyola Blakefield; Jaiden Jakubowski, John Carroll School; Dominick McKinney-George, Our Lady of Mount Carmel; Caleb Obannon, St. Frances Academy; Jason Ogbolu, Calvert Hall College