The 32 Annual Arundel Holiday Tournament has gone forward pretty much as seeded, Tuesday afternoon, seeing all the top seeds but four make it into the tournament semifinals.

Archbishop Spalding and Georgetown Prep both enter nine wrestlers into the Wednesday morning semifinals, tied for the most in the field, but it was DeMatha who took lead of the tournament with the pinning power and big wins.

DeMatha pushed eight wrestlers into the semis and posted a 97.5 team-point score in day one, while some others used upsets to add to their number of wrestlers left in the winners’ bracket.

Spalding saw an upset win in unranked Connor Lane, working a 5-4 decision over DeMatha’s Gaeret Fitzpatrick at 152 to be one of nine Cavs in the semifinals, Northern’s Matt Moore upset Freedom’s Hamm Levi, 6-5, at 112, and North County’s Lorenzo Maddox pinned his way to an upset spot in the 215 semifinals.

Maddox’s falls came over Speneer Blackewll of Sherwood and third ranked Connor Crowley of St. Mary’s.

Chesapeake was the other team to see an upset win in the quarterfinals, having unranked Kyle Gittings pull two upsets pins over Gabe Pastirik of St. Mary’s and Jared Howell of Sherwood.

Interestingly, Tyler Goodwin of Arundel spent just nine seconds on the mat in his quarterfinals win over Northern’s Andrew Pasqualle, his second pin of the night, and Spalding’s Will Switzer earned a 25-5 technical fall over AACS wrestler Sam Fontz, needing just 15 points to notch the win.

The semifinals of the 32 Annual Arundel Holiday Tournament are set to kickoff at 10:25 a.m.

Championship Semifinal Match-ups

Brant Leadbeter (NOR) Shane Wilson (DM)
Jeremy Morrow (CHES) Mike Still (AS)
Pat Prada (DM) Ray Burgos (BLA)
Matt Moore (NOR) Mat Laux (GP)
Logan Reece (ARU) Larry Lopez (DM)
Docy Morrow (CHES) Patrick Hutton (GP)
Daniel Sanchez (GP) Kyle Gittings (CHES)
Larry Bent (NC) Logan Breitenbach (AS)
Cole Graves (AS) James McCord (GP)
Sean Gaetani (FRE) CJ Austin (FAL)
Tyler Goodwin (ARU) Chris Fegan (GP)
Tito Onyekwelli (DM) Alex Rice (CHES)
Will Switzer (AS) Steve Kidwell (ARU)
Eddie Madden (BLA) Michael Sprague (GP)
Charlie Lynch (AS) Collin Alexander (NC)
Thomas Wilson (GP) Josh couto (DM)
Eric Hoffman (NOR) Cordell Blair (BLA)
Connor Lane (SP) Bryce pappas (STM)
Tony Murtha (GP) Alpha Jalloh (AACS)
Pete Ward (BOW) Sean-Patrick Meehan (DM)
Devaunje Smith (AS) Patrick haggerty (FRE)
Edwin Callender (BLA) Alex Cranford (NOR)
Kvaunte Smith (AS) Jason Cardozo (FRE)
Ballard Brandon (NC) Shane Cockerille (DM)
Dylan Devine (DM) Will Sewell (BLA)
Lorenzo Maddox (NC) Chris Freda (FRE)
DaQuante Timbers (FRE) malik Johnson (AS)
Ryan Shneider (GP) Pat Hyde (NC)

Day One Team Results

1 97 Dematha
2 89.5 Spalding
3 88 Georgetown Prep
4 80 Freedom
5 70 North County
6 59 Blake
7 56 Chesapeake
8 46 Northern
9 39 Arundel
10 35 AACS
11 31.5 Sherwood
12 20 Bowie
13 16 Fallston
14 14 St Marys