Each year, nearly 30 teams from four states gather in Ocean City, Md. to do battle with one-another on the mats of the Eastern Shore, and already the 2010 line-up has Baltimore wrestling fans talking.

After placing third last year and just six team points behind first place St. Mark’s, the Mount St. Joseph Gaels are looking to reclaim their 2008 WOS title when they take the trip to the Wicomico Youth and Civic Center Dec. 10-11 to do battle with the best of Maryland, Washington, D.C., Virginia, West Virginia and Delaware.

In their corner, the Gaels are retuning junior 2009 runner-up Tyler Tippett to the tournament, along with 13 other hungry wrestlers to try and out-maneuver the field in the weekend showdown.

Returning after two Top 10 finishes in recent years, Archbishop Spalding is returning 2009 189-pound champion senior Kvante Smith, along with 140-pound champ senior Charlie Lynch, senior bronze medalist Cole Gallagher (103) and senior Brian Cavey (112), who places fourth in last year’s tournament.

Gallagher may have to do battle with Archbishop Curley’s returning finalist senior Vince Scarinizi, who he dropped a 9-5 decision to in the 2009 tournament’s semifinals.

Curley is also retuning senior Brett Pryzwara, who took fourth last year at 130.

Other Maryland teams with returning medalists include La Plata, returning senior third-place finisher Daniel Brannon (135), and DeMatha Catholic, brining back junior runner-up Sean-Patrick Meehan (160).

2010 War on the Shore Schedule:
Friday, December 10th –
1:00pm Weigh-Ins
3:00pm Varsity 1st Round Preliminary             
5:30pm Varsity and JV Round of 16
8:00pm Varsity and JV Consolation 1
9:30pm Varsity Consolation 2

Saturday, December 11th –

9:00am Varsity Quarter Finals
9:00am Junior Varsity Quarter Finals
10:30am Varsity Consolation 3
10:30am Junior Varsity Consolation 2
12:00pm Varsity Semi-Finals (4 mats)
12:00pm Junior Varsity Semi-Finals
1:30pm Varsity Consolation
2:30pm JV Consolation Quarter Finals
3:30 Varsity Consolation Quarter Finals
3:30 Junior Varsity Consolation Quarter Finals
5:00 Varsity Consolation Semi-Finals
5:00 Junior Varsity 3rd/4th
5:00 Junior Varsity Finals
Junior Varsity Awards immediately following
6:15 Varsity Finals (4 Mats)
Mat 2 – Championship
Mat 6 – 3rd/4th
Mat 3 – 5th/6th
Mat 7 – 7th/8th
Awards following each weight class.

2010 Participants and Honors by state


Sussex Central–2010 Henlopen Conference Champions; 2010 Division I State Runner-Up; 2010 #25 ranked team in nation; 2009 War on the Shore Runner-Up; 2009 Division I State Champions

Smyrna–2009 War on the Shore 5th Place; 2010 Division I Team Semi-Finalist

Hodgson Vo Tech–2010 Division II State Champions

Indian River–2010 Division II State Semi-Finalist

Salesianum–DE Independent

Sussex Tech–2010 Division I State Dual Quarterfinalist

Caravel Academy–2010 Division II State Runner-Up

Caeser Rodney–12 Time Delaware State Champions; 2010 Division I Team Semi-Finalists; 22 Time Henlopen Champions; 2009 War on the Shore 4th Place


La Plata–2010 Maryland 3A/4A State Dual Runner Up; 2010 Maryland 3A/4A South Region Champions; 2007 and 2008 Maryland State Champions

Mount St. Joe–2010 Maryland Independent State Champions; 2010 MIAA Champions; 2009 War on the Shore 3rd Place

Stephen Decatur–2010 Bayside Conference Champions; 2010 3A/4A East Region Runner-Up; 2008 Maryland 3A/4A State Dual Champions

Rising Sun–2007 1A/2A State Champions

Archbishop Curley–9th at 2010 MIS State Tournament

Archbishop Spalding–3rd at 2010 MIS State Tournament

DeMatha Catholic–2010 WCAC Champions; 6th at 2010 MIS State Tournament

Broadneck–4A East Region

Severna Park–4A East Region

Easton–2A East Region

Good Counsel–WCAC Member

Old Mill–2009 Maryland 3A/4A State Dual Champions

Centennial–3A East Region

Patuxent–2A South Region


Hanover–2010 VA AAA 8th Place Team; 2009 War on the Shore 9th Place

Riverbend–2010 VA AAA 15th Place

Grassfield–2009 VA AAA 4th Place

Hickory–VA AAA

Great Bridge–18 Time VA State Champions

Poquoson–9 Time VA State Champions

Grafton–VA AA

Hayfield–VA AAA

Washington, D.C.
Gonzaga College–WCAC 3rd Place

West Virginia

Wheeling Park–6 Time AAA State Champions; 2010 AAA States 5th Place

Previous Team Results

2009 Team Top 10
1. St Mark’s 188.50
2. Sussex Central 187.50
3. Mount St Joseph 182.50
4. Caesar Rodney 128.50
5. La Plata 122.00 (tie) Smyrna 122.00
7. Floyd Kellam 118.00
8. Dematha Catholic 116.50
9. Archbishop Spalding 113.00
10. Hanover 99.50

2008 Team Top 10

1. Mount St. Joseph 221.50
2. Smyrna 212.50
3. Cox 188.50
4. Kellam 163.50
5. Sussex Central 158.00
6. Dematha Catholic 127.00
7. Archbishop Curley 119.00
8. Stephen Decatur 118.00
9. La Plata 116.00
10. Archbishop Spalding 114.00