Gilman wins 5-of-7 individual squash titles

Email Facebook MySpace Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Google Bookmarks Print 

Gilman’s Charlie East wins No. 1 crown; McDonogh earns two champs
In the finals of the MIAA Individual Squash Tournament, held Wednesday evening at Meadow Mill Athletic Club, team champion Gilman won five of the seven individual titles as well.

No. 7 Braxton Antill won his third individual title for the Greyhounds with a 3-0 victory over McDonogh’s Samira Chatrathi. Gilman's Ned Gildea, competing at No. 6, also won by 3-0 score, downing St. Paul’s Will Ford to cap an undefeated freshman season.

Next, Gilman's Matt Katz won at No. 5 to also finish an undefeated season, as he also won his third individual title with straight set victory over McDonogh’s Jeremy Waldman. Yet another Greyhound, No. 4 Brad Levin, won a third individual title by beating McDonogh’s Rohan Korn 3-0.

The match of the night came at No. 3, pitting McDonogh’s Alastair Cho against Gilman’s Wiatt Hinton. Cho squeaked out a 13-11 overtime victory in the final game to claim the crown. McDonogh’s Ben Korn also needed overtime in the fourth game (13-11) to defeat Gilman’s Will Dewire at the No. 2 slot, in a match that was also highlighted by extensive rallies.

The excellent squash continued in the final match as Gilman’s No. 1 Charlie East defeated McDonogh’s Cullen Little, 3-0.


TERMS OF SERVICE   |   PRIVACY STATEMENT  | Copyright @ 2010 SportsCom Media LLC | .