Georgetown Prep captures IAC championship

Email Facebook MySpace Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Google Bookmarks Print 

Hoyas five champions power title run
Georgetown Prep (No. 14 per the Maryland State Wrestling Association) won last year’s IAC title by 69 points over runner-up Bullis. This season the team race proved to be closer though, as the Hoyas won the crown by 13 over Landon, 166-153.

Winning titles for Prep were No. 23 Kobe Borda (126), Ethan Krause (152, No. 1 at 145 by the MSWA), No. 7 Caleb Wilson (170), No. 9 Riley Stewart (182), and No. 2 Thomas Gates (285). Wilson defeated Landon’s Jaleni Machen (No.13 at 160) in his finals bout, 3-2.

Placing second for the Hoyas were, Thomas Whittier (113), Joe Keane (120), Grant Maynard (195), and No.10 Bryant Boswell (220). David Mitchell (145) was third and Ryan Yousefi (160) was fourth.

Landon’s second place finish was paced by four champions, Patrick Kielb (106), No. 8 Lorenzo Lopez (120), Brendon Gallagher (138, No. 5 at 145), and Carter Johnson (195).

Third place Bullis (148 points) tied Georgetown Prep with a tournament-high five champions. Winning gold were Isaac Ruderman (113), No. 10 Marcelo Motta (132), Austin Brown (145), No. 3 Aryemis Brown (160), and Ethan Sypes (220).

Ruderman edged Prep’s Whittier, 12-10, for his title. Whittier has been in and out of the MSWA rankings this season. Sypes, who is unranked by the MSWA, pinned the Hoya’s Boswell in the first period, 1:40.

Last Updated (Monday, 06 February 2017 19:37)



TERMS OF SERVICE   |   PRIVACY STATEMENT  | Copyright @ 2010 SportsCom Media LLC | .